Skip to main content

Government of Timor-Leste reaffirms its strong support for struggle of Sahrawi people to Self-determination and independence

Submitted on

Dili (Timor-Leste), July 23rd, 2021 (SPS) - The Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, H.E. Mr. Taur Matan Ruak received Friday the Ambassador of Saharawi Republic (S.A.D.R) in Dili, Mr. Malainin Abba.
“The Government of Timor-leste has strong constant commitment and principled unwavering support for the just struggle of the Saharawi people for self-determination and independence, Timor-leste will always stand supportive to this legitimate struggle till the Independence. I would like to confirm that the Saharawi peoples’ struggle case is Timor-leste’s case” declared the Prime Minister H.E. Mr. Taur Matan Ruak.
During the meeting, Ambassador Mr.  Malainin Abba, expressed his gratitude for the historical, principled and constant strong support stand of the Government of Timor-Leste towards the just struggle of the Saharawi people for Self-determination and full sovereignty of (S.A.D.R) over all its territory.
The Saharawi Ambassador reiterated the commitment of the Saharawi Republic (S.A.D.R) to further deepen the friendly existing good relations between the Saharawi Republic and the Democratic Republic of Timor-leste.
The Saharawi Diplomat briefed the Prime Minister of Timor-Leste about the different aspects of the latest developments in Western Sahara.
[[{"fid":"34263","view_mode":"default","fields":{"format":"default","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false},"type":"media","field_deltas":{"1":{"format":"default","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false,"field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":false}},"link_text":null,"attributes":{"height":457,"width":720,"style":"font-weight: 400; font-style: normal; font-size: 12.0012px; font-family: \"Helvetica Neue\", Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;","class":"media-element file-default","data-delta":"1"}}]]
It is worth noting that the actual Prime Minister of Timor-Leste was from 2012 to 2017 the President of the Republic of Timor-leste and he is also one of the historical icons of the Struggle for the Liberation and Independence of Timor-Leste. (SPS)