Skip to main content

EU: Western Sahara, Morocco are two separate territories

Submitted on

Brussels, Jan, 05 2021 (SPS)-The designation of Western Sahara and the Kingdom of Morocco as two separate territories under an ongoing agreement between the European Union and Morocco is "an important step forward," said Tuesday the Frente POLISARIO, which welcomed the fact that the position adopted in December by the outgoing U.S. president on Western Sahara has not had any effect on European countries.
"In a communication, put online on November 30, 2020, the European Commission published a proposal for a Council decision to the European Union concerning the modification of the Agreement on the international carriage of passengers by road by means of occasional coach and bus services (ASOR)- the "Interbus Agreement- for the accession of the Kingdom of Morocco," said Frente POLISARIO. 
"Although it is a preparatory act to the Council decision, this text expresses exactly the intentions and the policy of the European leaders," added POLISARIO. 
"We welcome this attitude, which we consider an important step forward. Given the stakes of the moment, coach transport is certainly not a strategic issue, but it is different from this text which ratifies European jurisprudence," according to the same source.SPS